Everything’s so blurry

Standard

This is a bit of a different subject for me, but I felt the need to say something. I know that people are hurting right now, there are lots of people that are unemployed and just need someone to give em a few bucks to help them get by but its getting bad. Ben and I went out to the loop (a popular  shopping and entertainment spot in St.Louis) and we got stopped 3 times in the 15 minutes we were there. We managed to avoid one guy who always sits on the same spot, so we didn’t cross the street until after we had passed him, which sounds like we were avoiding him, which I guess we were but he is out there every time I go to the loop.

The first person to actually stop us had stopped us once before, and had given us some story about how she was pregnant and just needed some money for some food and saying she hadn’t eaten in days. Back then I felt bad for her, but when I saw her yesterday I had to resist the urge to say something about that particular time. We only stopped long enough for her to say ” do you guys have a dollar I could have?”, which I didn’t.

The second person was a guy, who looked to be in his mid 40’s. This guy was good, in fact if I had any money he might have gotten it. He told us his story about how in the past he used to be a drug addict and he had 2 kids and there hungry and cold and there just trying to get home. At first it seemed as if he was asking for a ride, which there was no way he was getting, but then he suddenly made his intentions clear when he said he didn’t have enough money for his bus ride home, then he asked for $3. Looking at this man, I almost felt sorry, he did look a little dirty and sort of like he hadn’t gotten to shower in a day or two. Once again, I couldn’t help him even if I wanted to, I had no cash.

The third and final time we got stopped was the quickest of the three. It was a older lady, maybe mid to late 50’s…in fact should could have been 60. Her story was that she has a baby at home and she ran out of diapers, the only thing  I could say was sorry.

Despite the fact that I didn’t have any money, the few dishonest people in the world have made it hard to believe anyone’s story, no matter how tragic it may or may not be. I try and at lest listen to everyone’s story, because I to have been on the down and out, maybe not to the extreme that those who are begging for money are but in my own way.

I watched so many people just pretend that they were too good to even say hi to those people, and I just started thinking…

…. Everyone deserves to have there story heard….

…see everyone next week…

Leave a comment