my thought process

Standard

One of my friends came to me the other day when we were hanging out, and I was playing around with my camera, and said I’d actually like to pick up photography. Now if you know me at all I don’t call myself a photographer, in fact I call myself an artist and leave it at that. Although, I have been known to use a camera to get my point across, I constantly use a variety of different materials to complete my work.

As soon as I realized what he was saying, and what that actually meant, I first off asked him what equipment he had. Although, I believe it’s not the camera that makes the finished piece, I also believe that you can only be as good as your equipment, and you want the ability to change your sizes and what ever else you would like to do. For now, he would be focusing on simple point-and-shoot photography so that I can help with. After giving it some thought, I told him I’d let him come along when I go out shooting sometime and show him what I knew, that is if he was willing to learn.

While I wait for a response from him along with several people to find out if their still interested in participating in some of my upcoming projects, I will be spending time with Jess and shooting some photos of her, some of which may or may not end up on this blog next week…it all depends on the out come of the shots and whether or not she gives me the thumbs up. I’ll be taking graduation pictures of her, more than likely shooting and editing them this weekend, although I will not be bringing my friend along for this shoot, they will be more private.

Let me go ahead and tell you my main principles, which I learned from someone. They are as follows:

Great photos need:

  • Light
  • composition
  • a 2D thought process

Obviously you want your subject to be properly lit but one thing I see most people forget is the 2D thought process. So I know that sounds extremely weird and probably doesn’t make any sense but I am going to explain it. When a photograph is taken, the world that is captured is no longer seen in the 3D way that our eyes see it everyday. The image that the camera captures is a flattened version of what we see. So when you’re picking out your placements and your locations, you should think about that background, it works if you’re there live looking at it, but will it work once that shot is taken…it’s something to think about.

Well that’s gonna do it for me this week folks, I hope you learned something today…and just so you know, you don’t have to own a fancy camera to use those principles, in fact just keeping those thoughts in mind when taking a photograph with any camera, yes that includes your cellphone, can only improve your images.

…Until Next time, keep shooting…

(WOW!! That would make a nice catch phrase for the end of my posts)

Leave a Reply

